Underground Subway Metro Map Bucharest Romania

25 January 2019 • Resources

Download Download Bucharest Metro Map.pdf

Underground Subway Metro Map Bucharest Romania

The Bucharest Metro (Romanian: Metroul București) is an underground rapid transit system that serves the capital of Romania, Bucharest. It first opened for service on 19 November 1979. The network is run by Metrorex. One of two parts of the larger Bucharest public transport network, Metrorex has an average of approximately 500,000 passenger trips per weekday, compared to the 2,650,000 daily riders on Bucharest's RATB transit system. In total, the Metrorex system is 71.35 kilometres (44.3 mi) long and has 47 stations


The first proposals for a metro system in Bucharest were made in the early part of the 20th century, by the Romanian engineers Dimitrie Leonida and Elie Radu.

The earliest plans for a Bucharest Metro were drafted in the late 1930s, alongside the general plans for urban modernization of the city. The outbreak of World War II, followed by periods of political tensions culminating with the installation of communism, put an end to the plans. 

By 1970, the public transport system (ITB) was no longer adequate due to the fast pace of urban development, although the system was the fourth-largest in Europe. A commission was set up, and its conclusion pointed to the necessity of an underground transit system that would become the Bucharest Metro. The construction on the new metro system started on 20 September 1975.

The network was not built in the same style as other Eastern European systems. Firstly, the design of the stations on the initial lines was simple, clean-cut modern, without excessive additions such as mosaics, awkward lighting sources or excessive decoration. The main function of the stations was speed of transit and practicality. Secondly, the trainsets themselves were all constructed in Romania and did not follow the Eastern European style of construction. Each station usually followed a colour theme (generally white – in Unirii 2, Universitate, Victoriei 1, Lujerului; red - in Politehnica but also light blue – in Obor and Gara de Nord; orange – in Tineretului; green - in Grozăvești), and an open plan. No station was made to look exactly like any other. Despite this, many stations are rather dark, due to the policies of energy economy in the late 1980s, with later modernisations doing little to fix this problem. Bucharest being one of the largest cities in the region, the network is larger than those of Prague or Budapest. When the planned new line-extensions are finished, they will increase the system length to more than 100 km, with about 80 stations. 

  • The first line, M1, opened on 16 November 1979, running from Semănătoarea (now Petrache Poenaru) to Timpuri Noi. It was 8.1-kilometre (5.0 mi) long with 6 stations. Following this, more lines were opened:
  • 28 December 1981: M1 Timpuri Noi – Republica; 9.2 kilometres (5.7 mi), 6 stations 
  • 19 August 1983: M1 (now M3) Branch line Eroilor – Industriilor (now Preciziei) ; 8.2 kilometres (5.1 mi), 4 stations (Gorjului added later)
  • 22 December 1984: M1 Semănătoarea (Petrache Poenaru) – Crângaşi; 0.97 kilometres (0.60 mi), 1 station
  • 24 January 1986: M2 Piaţa Unirii – Depoul IMGB (now Berceni) ; 9.96 kilometres (6.19 mi), 6 stations (Tineretului and Constantin Brâncoveanu added later)
  • 6 April 1986: M2 Tineretului; 0.0 km, 1 station
  • 24 October 1987: M2 Piaţa Unirii – Pipera; 8.72 kilometres (5.42 mi), 5 stations (Piaţa Romană added later)
  • 24 December 1987: M1 Crângaşi – Gara de Nord 1; 2.83 kilometres (1.76 mi), 1 station (Basarab added later)
  • 28 November 1988: M2 Piaţa Romană; 0.0 km, 1 station
  • 5 December 1988: M2 Constantin Brâncoveanu; 0.0 km, 1 station
  • 17 August 1989: M3 (now M1) Gara de Nord 1 – Dristor 2; 7.8 kilometres (4.8 mi), 6 stations
  • May 1991: M1 Republica – Pantelimon; 1.43 kilometres (0.89 mi), 1 station (single track, operational on a special schedule)
  • 26 August 1992: M1 Basarab; 0.0 km, 1 station
  • 31 August 1994: M3 Gorjului; 0.0 km, 1 station (westbound platform only; eastbound platform opened in 1998)
  • 1 March 2000: M4 Gara de Nord 2 – 1 Mai; 3.6 kilometres (2.2 mi), 4 stations
  • 19 November 2008: M3 branch Nicolae Grigorescu 2 – Linia de Centură (now Anghel Saligny), 4.75 kilometres (2.95 mi), 4 stations
  • 1 July 2011: M4 1 Mai – Parc Bazilescu, 2.62 kilometres (1.63 mi), 2 stations
  • 31 March 2017: M4 Parc Bazilescu – Lac Străulești, 2.1 kilometres (1.3 mi), 2 stations
  • Lines M1 and M3 have been sharing the section between Eroilor and Nicolae Grigorescu.

Large stations which connect with other lines (such as Victoriei) have two terminals, and each terminal goes by a different name (Victoriei 1 and Victoriei 2). On the official network map, they are shown as two stations with a connection in between, even though, in practice (and in trip planners), they are really only one station with platforms at different levels. There is one exception: Gara de Nord 1 and Gara de Nord 2 are separate stations (although linked through a subterranean passage, the traveller is required to exit the station proper and pay for a new fare at the other station, thus leaving the system), passengers being required to change trains at Basarab. 

Generally, the underground stations feature large interiors.The largest one, Piata Unirii, is cathedral-like, with vast interior spaces, hosting retail outlets and fast-food restaurants and has an intricate network of underground corridors and passageways.